Off-Broadway News

L Morgan Lee directs An evening of commissioned monologues October 16

The evening concludes the Breaking the Binary Theater Festival which kicked off on October 10.

L Morgan Lee
Heather Gershonowitz

Breaking the Binary Theater Festival ends its run with An evening of commissioned monologues directed by Tony nominee L Morgan Lee (A strange loop). Founding Artistic Director George Strus leads the festival at Off-Broadway’s Theater Row where it kicked off October 10.

The evening features new monologues from 15 TNB2S+ writers (a group that includes trans, non-binary, and two-spirit people who identify as trans, as well as any artist who does not identify with the male and female binary). Writers who have contributed to the monologues include AA Brenner, Azure D. Osborne-Lee, Bianca Leigh, Else Went, Isaac Gómez, Kaela Mei-Shing Garvin, Lady Dane Figueroa Edidi, Liqing Xu, Mashuq Mushtaq Deen, Sam Hamashima, Sharifa Yasmin (The devils between us), Sylvain Oswald (Pony), Timothy DuWhite, Travis L. tate, and Victor I. Cazares (American (televisions)). After the presentation, Broadway Licensing will publish and license the monologues, with all proceeds going to the festival.

“There is growing interest in stories that include or center trans, non-binary, and gender-extended people,” says Lee. “What we keep on see, however, these are the stories – most often – told through the lens of cis people. We can both celebrate the movement forward and also take note that without trans people in the room helping to build these pieces, something will always be missing.”

Works featured during the festival include Ty Defore’s Trans worldby Liliana Padilla TicRoger Q.Mason’s hide and hideat Ruth Tang Work hard Have fun Make historyAziza Barnes grannyand Mara Vélez Meléndez Thelma and Louise and the time machine.

“Breaking the Binary Theater Festival centers the voices and stories of artists from trans, non-binary, and two-spirit communities+ by creating space and providing resources to explore new work, while building community and reclaiming our stories and our artistic license,” Strus said in an earlier statement.

The Core Community festival’s volunteer advisory board includes Tony nominee Adam Rigg (The skin of our teeth), award-winning writer Jonathan Larson César Alvarez, New York Stage and Film Artistic Director Chris Burney, David Mendizábal, Guggenheim Fellow Jen Silverman, Tony Laureate John Cameron Mitchell, Tony KO Laureate, formerly known as named after Karen Olivo, Jonathan Larson Award winner poet Kit Yan, MJ Kaufman, Qween Jean, ART co-director Risa Shoup, Grammy winner Ty Defoe, and Princeton Arts Fellow Will Davis. Lee and Tomás Matos also join the Core Community.

For more information, visit