After making history with 105 points in just 56 games, the Oilers superstar Connor mcdavid won the 2021 Hart Trophy. McDavid also won the Ted Lindsay Award on Tuesday. (McDavid also won the Art Ross Trophy as a points leader in 2020-21.)

McDavid’s Oilers teammate last season Leon Draisaitl also won the Hart Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award. Draisaitl ended up presenting both awards to McDavid this time around.

Speaking of making history, McDavid joined Wayne Gretzky as the second unanimous Hart Trophy winner in the award’s 97-year history. More on this from the NHL:

“He is only the second unanimous Hart Trophy winner in the 97-year history of the award, which was first awarded in 1923-24. McDavid joins fellow Oilers center Wayne Gretzky, who was the top pick among 63 voters after his 92-goal, 212-point season in 1981-82.

Scroll down to the bottom of this article for the first and second all-star results as well.

Connor McDavid wins 2021 Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award

McDavid won the Hart Trophy, while Auston matthews and Nathan MacKinnon were the other two finalists. In the case of the Ted Lindsay Award, Matthews and Sidney crosby joins McDavid as finalists.

Professional hockey editors vote for the Hart Trophy, awarded to the “player deemed most valuable to his team.” Meanwhile, the NHLPA is voting for the Ted Lindsay Award, awarded “to the most outstanding player in the NHL.”

As the 2020-21 season progressed, McDavid went from an outside chance to score 100 points in 56 games, to appearing to be able to do it, and then to take that milestone. He reached 100 in 53 games, finishing with 105 in 56.

Beyond scoring at this historic pace, McDavid has also improved defensively.

In 2019-2020, one of the big hits for McDavid and Draisaitl was that they gave up on defense almost as much as they generated on offense. You can see the good and bad of McDavid in resources like his RAPM record at Evolving Hockey:

via the evolution of hockey

Maybe McDavid spent the summer reading these reviews and maybe hearing a lot about how Nathan MacKinnon might be the best player in the world instead. Either way, McDavid was offensively off the charts (literally, you have to adjust the y-axis to reflect his scoring supremacy), while still having a positive influence on defense.

Connor McDavid wins 2021 Hart Trophy, 2020 Ted Lindsay RAPM Award21
via the evolution of hockey

Extremely impressive.


Many years there is room for the Hart Trophy debate. In 2020-2021, the only questions were:

  • Will Connor McDavid Win the Hart Trophy Unanimously?
  • And how does McDavid’s season compare to the peak years of superstars like Wayne Gretzky and Mario Lemieux?

Here’s how the voting for the 2021 Hart Trophy went. Once again, McDavid joined Gretzky as the only NHL players to achieve unanimous Hart Trophy victories:

Connor McDavid's Unanimous Hart Trophy Wins Votes
via the NHL

For McDavid, the next frontier is a deep playoff. Despite being part of the Oilers lineage like Gretzky, his path might instead be parallel to Lemieux: a superstar who had to endure turmoil and hardship in poorly managed teams before breaking through to the championship level.

McDavid winning Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award completes a big day for the Oilers, who also signed Ryan nugent hopkins to a fascinating eight-year contract. It’s also the anniversary of a not-so-good day for the Oilers, because Edmonton traded Taylor Room in the unfortunate deal for Adam larsson five years ago.

McDavid and Vasilevskiy lead NHL’s first all-star team in 2021

Interesting way, Marc-André Fleury won the Vézina Trophy 2021, but Andrei Vasilevskiy finished as a goaltender for the NHL’s first all-star team in 2021:

(Adam fox also won the 2021 Norris Trophy.)

The second all-star team presented some intriguing results:

Click here to learn more about the results.

The following NHL winners were announced earlier in the playoffs:

King Clancy: Pekka rinne
Jack Adams Award: Rod Brind’Amour
Selke Trophy: Alexander Barkov
Masterton Trophy: Oskar Lindblom
Jim Gregory CEO of the Year Award: Lou Lamoriello
Lady Byng Trophy: Jacob Slavin
Mark Messier Leadership Award: Patrice Bergeron
Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award: Kevin Hodgson

James o’brien is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at [email protected] or follow him on Twitter @cyclelikesedins.

Source link